Day 155: Retirement…

No, not mine ( I can’t even begin to fathom it yet).  Two come to mind this week.  The first is a long-time colleague from another high school.  This colleague has also been one of the regulars at our Phox Valley Share sessions over the last bunch of years.  She works at parochial school in town and will be very difficult to replace… OK, not the right word, but you know what I mean. She teaches biology, chemistry, and physics — at a PAROCHIAL school.  She continues to work very hard and still has her students working hard too… very cool.

The second is one of my older sisters ( I have four).  This one has been teaching for a total of 27 years.  The last 20 have been at a high school in the southern part of the state (just outside of Milwaukee).  My brother (a district level administrator in the one of the bigger districts in the state) and I surprised her by showing up at the dinner and ceremony her district held to honor its retirees and 25 year employees.  My sister was speechless, which I can tell DOES NOT HAPPEN very often!  She just sort of stared at us for the first 20 seconds… then started to cry.  It was a very nice meal and ceremony. It was amazing to hear about the things my sister has done for her district and school.

The power of relationships keeps popping into my mind as I reflect on these two retirements. The professional relationship with my colleague and the family relationship with my sister remind me that when there are solid relationships in place, amazing things can happen.  Easily transferred to the classroom setting… strong relationships with students can help them achieve amazing things.  I know I have not established the relationship with every student,  something for me to continue to work on.

Advanced Physics:

We started this class by looking at how the electric potential difference changes around a circuit.  I used these two circuits along with a Vernier voltage probe to build the idea of an electric potential diagram (an EPD).

IMG_3806         

To draw the EPD, the end of each wire is labeled with a letter:

EPD1

The potential is measured by placing the black lead of the voltage probe on the wife labeled ‘F’. and the red robe starts on the wire labeled ‘A’.  Collect the potential difference values as the red lead is moved to each of the labeled positions.  This provides the values for the EPD.  In the end, here is what the EPD’s will look like:

Screen Shot 2015-05-10 at 4.31.31 PM Screen Shot 2015-05-10 at 4.31.36 PM

I like these diagrams because they show that the only time the electric potential difference drops is across a bulb, NOT along a wire, especially these short wires.  This type of diagram  is similar to the color coding for electric potential used with CASTLE. The only issue I have had with that process is choosing appropriate colors when the circuit is not a nice, clean one with the obvious colors.

Toward the end of the hour, I have the classes a situation to draw both the schematic and the EPD for.  Here is a clip of the demo that uses a bath room light bar I re-wired.

General Physics:

This group spent today completing the Bulb Boy activity.

 

Leave a Reply

