Day 147: Charge Assessment and Work(ing)

Well it is the Monday after prom… ’nuff said’ right?  No surprise that most of my students became more sluggish as the day progressed.  So here is what we did.

Advanced Physics:

The Advanced course took a ‘Charge Processes’ assessment.  I’m trying something new this year … rather than a summative test on charge; Coulomb’s Law, Electric fields and Electric Potential, I’m going to go with a few short assessments and skip the nitty gritty on how we transition from electric fields to electric potential.

SIDEBAR:  Part of the decision to do this is based on how far ‘behind’ I am from previous years.  We have lost sooooo may days for this, that and the mandated testing, that I am scrambling a bit to cover what I usually do.

Here is the assessment they took today.

Screen Shot 2015-04-27 at 3.53.54 PM

 

Essentially it is straight out of Arons.  I really like it.  After the assessment, I allowed them to work in small groups to finish a practice set on Coulomb’s Law and then prep a WB for tomorrow.

 

General Physics:

Today we developed the model for work(ing).  I followed the same basic discussion approach I did with the advanced students I wrote about here.  The only real difference is that we do not talk about power right away.  It has been my experience that even though power is not a very difficult concept, sometimes piggy-backing the two concepts leads to confusion for these students.

Leave a Reply

