Day 93: WB’ing AND Demonstrating Circular Force Diagrams –> That’s right, I said DEMONSTRATING

Advanced Physics:

Today we started WB’ing the circular force diagram problems the students were given yesterday.  As part of the WB process, after we had agreed upon what the force diagram should look like AND some of the conceptual aspects of each problem, I demonstrated the problem.  Here is an example:

Screen Shot 2015-01-27 at 8.41.58 PM

 

Many of my students have been on or seen a ‘spin and barf’ ride like this one.  Here is he demo I set up to show it to them:

Here is another one of the problems:

Screen Shot 2015-01-27 at 8.45.13 PM

 

To demonstrate this one, I set up an old electric slot car race track.  I kept one end of the oval as a flat curve but made the other end banked.  I’ll add a video clip tomorrow, but you already know that the car leaves the track tangentially on the flat side.

 

Two others that I’ll share tomorrow.

 

Leave a Reply

