Day 13: Re-assessment Policy Explained

Advanced Physics:

I returned the Graphing Assessment the students completed yesterday.  Today was the day to explain my re-assessment policy.  My students are allowed to re-assess on just about everything (NOT the final exam and not the conceptual questions on our unit tests.)  There are two conditions I have for re-assessment for full credit. Condition 1:  The student MUST complete some extra practice BEFORE re-assessing.  This is usually something posted on Schoology that we then talk about.  Condition 2:  To earn full credit, the student must have completed all the assigned practice before the assessment.  If the student did not complete all the practice, he/she can still re-assess, just not for full credit. (usually about 75% or 80%).  It amazes me how some kids do not take advantage of the re-assessment option.  My students get to keep ALL their assessments and tests. We go through them (usually) the next day and I tell them to make an ‘answer key’.

SIDEBAR:  Yes, I re-write a new unit test/assessment each year.  Not from scratch, but varied enough that I am not worried about the tests being around.

I explain to my students that they will not be getting a review packet when the final exam time rolls around.  We have been building our review packet the entire semester… all those ‘answer keys’.  I strongly encourage them to use the study technique known as self testing. (here is the research to support this)  They should cover up the solution to the problem/question with a blank sheet of paper and re-work the problem, then slide the paper down to check it.

After this discussion,  we finished checking the We Got The Beat Challenge… I still have Celine Dion stuck in my head…. grrrrr

 

General Physics:

Today the General kids took their Graphing assessment.  It’s all graded and tomorrow we’ll discuss the re-assessment policy with them.  We’ll also check their We Got the Beat Challenge.  Here is the video I made to demo the process for them:

They will put sand (or lead shot) into an overflow cup so they can get the exact mass predicted by their graphs/equations.

Leave a Reply

