Day 2

Today was a normal schedule, so we had 53 minute classes.  I started both classes (Advanced and General) by explaining why we levitated the malted milk balls.

SIDEBAR: I have a sound educational reason (or reasons) for everything we do in class.  I explain my students that I will do my very best to never waste their time… what we are doing always has a reason that might not be clear right away, but will become clear at some point.

Back to levitating malted milk balls:  Most of the students saw this simple activity as a way to demonstrate some pretty cool physics, namely the Bernoulli effect. But, behind the scenes there was a second reason.  It provided an opportunity to talk about Carol Dweck’s work on mindset.  I found this graphic:

Screen Shot 2014-09-09 at 9.37.39 PM

from this website:

http://www.yolandadeloach.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/07/growth-mindset.png

The example I used for a fixed mindset related tot eh activity was thinking, “I can’t do that” or “There’s no way I could ever do that so I’m not going to try”  For a growth mindset, it was, “Well, I’m not sure how to do that, but I’m going to try this…”  or  noticing another student trying something, “Oh, I can do that…”.  I think the connection to studying physics was pretty clear.

We also spent a few minutes talking a bit more in detail about the course using our syllabus.

We spent the last half of the class period doing the Marshmallow Challenge.  This is a nice first day activity that I learned about from reading Frank Noschese blog, here.

Leave a Reply

